top of page


Div 1

Opals (Gerrit Fialla and Michael Wilson) prevailed in Division 1 to snatch the premiership. While they never headed the placings during the entire season, Opals knew when it counted to be in form. Club president, Michael Wilson, was the star. Michael, as he will concede himself, has not been in form over the last few seasons. No doubt the responsibilities of his role has made it difficult. But he put this all behind him with a big win over the classy Martin Tribe in the semi. This was probably the pivotal win which secured their spot in the grand final.

Minor premiers Pearls (Jerrod Thomson and Ken Hay) had a big win over Sapphires who are comprised of the finalists in our Sunshine Coast Closed Tournament held only a week ago, namely Adam Wood and Ian Oakley.

Pearls were then expected to be too strong for the Opals but the Opals had a surprisingly easy win in the important doubles clash (11-7, 11-7, 11-7) and with the score 2all, it was Michael’s 3-1 win over stalwart, Ken Hay which got them over the line. Needless to say, Gerrit was a determined and essential ally in the win. Congratulations to Gerrit and Michael.

Div 2

In Division 2, the form team for the entire season, the Sunflowers (Russell Treloar, Bruce Taylor and Stephen Parke), held their nerve to take the title 7-4 over the Daffodils (Danny Yeung, Jim Kyle and Gary Kiorgaard). Most credit should go to Russell Treloar who kept the flag flying through the whole season. The Sunflowers held a good lead earlier in the season but two of their players, Gordon Falkingham and Ian Thomas, went globe trotting and were replaced by Bruce Taylor and Malenyite Stephen Parke during the season. They certainly did not let the side down and at the end of the season it was Sunflowers first and daylight second.

Throughout the season there has been a friendly but intense rivalry between the 2 captains of the teams, Russell Treloar and Danny Yeung. The lead in the rankings has swapped a number of times throughout the season. Danny held a narrow lead late in the season but, when the two clashed on July 24, Russell triumphed in 5 and took the lead, retaining this to the end.

With the Grand Final already well and truly decided, they were still keen to resume the battle. Once again it was point for point but Danny gained a bit of respect for the losers by taking the 5th game 11-9. They are both back in Division 1 for the coming season so I am sure we are in for a few more close encounters.

Well done to Russell Treloar, Bruce Taylor and Stephen Parke for their win. And also to Gordon Falkingham and Ian Thomas for doing the groundwork during the season to make it possible.

PS That's Michael Wilson in the photo above, holding the trophy.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
Search By Tags
bottom of page