top of page


In contrast to last season where the under-dogs won both finals, both divisions this season were won by the minor premiers.

In Division 1, it was minor premiers, Lamborghinis (Luke Thomson and Steve Keating), up against the McLarens (Adam Wood and Jimmy Yang) and expected that the result would get down to the doubles. However no one told Steve Keating this and he had a surprise but well-earned 4-2 win over the more fancied (ie higher ranked), Adam Woods. This gave Lamborghinis a 2 nil lead.

McLarens came back to keep the competition alive with a nail bitting 4-3 win in the doubles. There was drama when Lamborghini, Luke Thomson (the club’s current top ranked player), took a tumble in the match and there was uncertainty whether he could continue. But the damage was not game ending and he was able to come back and take the night with a 4-1 win over Adam Woods. In the end Lamborghinis won 3-2 but not in the way expected.

In Division 2, it was minor premiers, Mackerals (Gary Kiorgaard, Matt Old and Jim Kyle) up against Bream (Dan Ettel, Desley Payne and Hari-Rav Harish who was deputising for an injured Peter Deacon). The situation was quite tense with the match score at 2all, when Hari won the first game quite convincingly against Gary Kiorgaard. But Gary mastered Hari’s skilful fine touch play to win the next 3 games. The Mackerals went on to win 5 of the next 6 matches to win 8-3 and take the premiership. However the scoreline was not reflective of the close competition. Every singles match went to at least 4 games and Bream won the first game in 5 of the 9 singles games.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
Search By Tags
bottom of page