top of page

Sunshine Coast Table Tennis Closed Tournament - Results Report Pictures

Highlight of the Championships was Adam Wood defending his A Singles Title from last year. Ian Oakley showed what he is really capable of and did Adam a big favour by eliminating the always dangerous Bill Brown in the quarters and then Junior Singles winner and up-and-coming star, Dan Ettel, in 5 hard sets in one semi. I suspect that he also did Adam a big favour with these 2 players out of contention.

Adam had a much easier semi where he accounted for Greg Yu in 3. Greg had trouble with Adam’s masterful and deceptive serves and got many free points.

By the time Ian got to the final there was not much left in the tank and Adam won in 3. Well done , Adam.

For statistically minded people, the field included 5 ex winners of the crown – Martin Tribe (2002,2004,2005), Bill Brown (2008), Peng Yu (2014), Seng Joo (2016) and Adam himself (2017).

ABOVE - Adam receiving the perpetual trophy from club president, Michael Wilson

Jan Yu also defended her Ladies Singles title. It was not a big field but it certainly was a quality one with Linda Yapp, Jayde Treloar and Judy Chin attending.

ABOVE - Jan Yu receiving the Ladies Singles trophy with runner-up Linda Yapp in background

Bruce Taylor proved to be the doubles expert on the day teaming with Brendan Coles to win the B doubles and Joel Carpenter to win the Committee Doubles. Danny Yeung must be the unluckiest loser of the day after finishing runner up in 3 categories – B Singles, b doubles and B Mens Veteran Singles.

It was good to see a strong contingent from Noosa and a small contingent from Moreton Bay.

Congratulations to Michael Wilson and Heather Dunlevie for their precision organisation and Joel Carpenter for his delicious pulled pork burgers.

Full results are below:-

Martin Tribe (left) and Alan Bruhn (right) - winners of A Doubles

Junior Singles winner, Dan Ettel (Taha Kahn was the runner-up)

Dan was also a semi-finalist in the A Singles.

Proud winners of the Social Doubles, Chris Strybos and Sylvia Posadas

Last years winners and this year's runner's up of the Committee Doubles, Ian Oakley and John Bongertman. Ian is a legend in the club and was runner up in the A Singles.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
Search By Tags
bottom of page