top of page


The 20th Annual Sunshine Coast Closed Table Tennis Championships were held at Maroochy SHS Stadium on August 10 2019. Yes that is a while ago but I have been in Europe etc etc. That’s my story and I will stick to it.

Adam Wood did not make it 3 consecutive titles as a new player on the block has arrived from Germany with the name, Patrick Wuertz. I think most people would agree that it is a great opportunity to have a match with a player of Patrick’s standard. Runner up was our young gun, Dan Ettel. And with youth on his side at just 18 years and improving at the rate of knots, Dan may just give Patrick a shake in the future. Dan has gone from B grade Champion in 2017 to Semi Finalist in 2018 to Runner-Up in 2019 to ……………….

Patrick, partnering Peter Deacon, also won the Committee Doubles with a win over Martin Tribe and John Maddern in the final. However Patrick did not get it all his own way, going down to a very strong combination of Adam Wood and Jim Kenworthy in the final of the A Grade Doubles. Patrick’s partner on this occasion was Linda Yap.

Talking of Linda, she won the Ladies Singles with a win over Jan Yu. These 2 ladies have had a very competitive but friendly rivalry over a number of years seemingly taking it in turn to win. Indeed Jan did turn the tide in the Veteran Ladies with a win over Linda. Two very accomplished ladies. Linda climbed to 5th spot in A grade fixtures this season.

The Mens Veteran Singles Final was fought off between 2 very accomplished and crafty players in Martin Tribe and Jim Kenworthy. Martin has won the Open Title 3 times in the past (2002, 2004 and 2005) while Jim won it as recently as 2015. Jim prevailed.

Club President, Desley Payne, and her Committee should be very proud of another great Closed Tournament. There was a good roll up in all events with the exception of Juniors. There are some keen and able juniors around but possibly needed a bit more encouragement to front on the day. Hopefully next year.

Special mention to Ken Hay who once again was the chief administrator on the day. Also to Corey Bongertman, Kathy Oakley and Joel Carpenter for running the canteen and to our well organised Treasurer, Jim Kyle.

Below please find a complete table of results and some photos:-

A Grade Singles Winner - Patrick Wuertz

A Grade Singles Runner Up - Dan Ettel

Ladies Singles Winner - Linda Yap

Happy + hard working canteen - Kathy Oakley + Corey Bogertman

Our cheerful Treasurer, Jim Kyle (seated)

Finalists of Veteran Singles - Jim Kenworthy + Martin Tribe

A Grade Doubles Champions Jim Kenworthy + Adam Wood

Doubles action with chief organiser on the day, Ken Hay on stage

B Grade Doubles Champions - Martyn Clarke + Judy Chin

C Grade Doubles Champions - Peter Deacon + Jon Pratlett. Peter also teamed with Patrick Wuertz to win the Committee Doubles while Jon also won the C Grade Singles

I hardly recognized Adam Wood in this nice new shirt.

Runners -Up in the Committee Doubles - John Maddern + Martin Tribe

Social Doubles Champions - Dave Walters + John Maddern. They also teamed up to be Runners-Up in the C Grade Doubles

B Grade Singles Winner - Steve Gardner

B Doubles Runners-Up - Steve Gardner + Vincent Tan

Winner of Ladies Veterans + Runner-Up in Ladies Open - Jan Yu

Above and below are Ray Pratt, Denis Gall and Robert Lloyd (I think !!!! - Please let me know)

And finally some action shots:-

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
Search By Tags
bottom of page